Need help developing your product? Get one of our free samples and start right away!
The Key Difference Between Plant-based Protein and Rice Protein, Proteins are categorized as the building blocks of the body. Therefore, incorporating protein is considered the best way to acquire all the necessary vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients for the body. You can find protein in various forms including vegan and non-vegan options. However, when it comes to vegan sources of protein, many tend to believe that there are not enough vegan sources of protein or supplements.
That is not true. There are sources of protein which are created with the help of plants only. In fact, plant-based proteins can be derived from a wide range of sources. A quick search online will lead you to several sources of plant-based proteins, such as soy, hemp, cranberry, pumpkin seed, artichoke, alfalfa, rice and countless others.
In order to create plant-based protein, the precise material of the plant is carefully dried. This material is later turned into powder form. Following the powdering process, the plant-based protein goes through the processes of extraction, processing, as well as filtration, which helps eliminate impurities. Similarly, rice goes through the same initial stages. However, the slight difference is that rice is carefully treated with specifically chosen enzymes that aid in the separation of carbohydrates and proteins. That is the process of obtaining rice protein.
Rice protein is an enriching source of protein as it is rich in vitamin B, complex carbohydrates and fiber. The presence of such vital things indicates that rice protein can impact your health and body significantly in various manners. However, most plant-based proteins hold the same properties. Similar to their original sources, the protein powders are generally loaded with fiber and assorted micronutrients. But, the primary concern regarding the discussion of plant-based protein vs rice protein often revolves around their amino acid profiles.
It is true that rice protein has a slightly lower amino acid content as compared to various other plant-based proteins. However, the main reason individuals are encouraged to choose rice protein over other plant-based proteins, such as soy protein, is because rice protein is hypoallergenic. This means that people with certain allergies can not consume particular plant-based proteins. For instance, if you are allergic to soy, then you may have to look for other options. Since rice protein has hypoallergenic and is suitable for lactose-intolerant people, almost anyone can use it without complaints. The lower amino acid content problem can be fixed by combining some other compatible plant-based protein with rice protein. People often opt for pea protein.
Furthermore, one of the most fascinating things about plant-based proteins is that they often have their own distinct flavors. This means that if you add them to a meal or shake, you will definitely taste the protein in them. This is suitable for individuals who prefer the mouthfeel of such proteins. But, in contrast, rice protein is mainly flavorless. It has a slight sweetness, which is not that noticeable.BACK